14 Ağustos 2012 Salı

London 2012 Olympics Fashion Minute: Rhythmic Gymnastics Leotards Dazzle!

To contact us Click HERE

Bedazzled Hoops and Balls...

Ukraine: Ganna Rizatdinova holds her ball while she displays her lilac and purple with nude illusion mesh and crystal costume
I am OBSESSED with Rhythmic Gymnastics. Why? It's like Figure Skating but without the ice and ice skates.I especially LOVE it because I am a big fan of ballet (my distant family member was Dame Margot Fonteyn in case you didn't know so it's sort of in my blood!) and of course, I am a big fan of bedazzled leotard costumes. Rhythmic Gymnastics is a sport that combines ballet, gymnastics and dance, and apparatus manipulation--as in a ball, hoop, rope, clubs, ribbon. The London Olympics 2012 Rhythmic Gymnastics Competition began on August 9th and ends on the 11th. So, we are just beginning to see some of the bedazzled, semi-campy costumes that will surely be Olympic Fashion Moments for years to come. The costumes are very similar to Figure Skating--in that there's a lot of crystals, nude illusion, and flirty "skirts" attached. But somehow, here in Rhythmic Gymnastics, the costumes are just well, taken up a notch. They're like Figure Skating Costumes...on Steroids!

Here were some of my Faves--and Not-So Faves from the first competitions:

Australia, Janine Murray: Lots of color, abstract designs, nude illusion, it's all good to me.  
Fashion Grade: 9.0 (out of 10)

Austria, Caroline Weber: How fab is this? She's from Austria AND she's wearing a bedazzled DIRNDL! It's like GAY OKTOBERFEST! I want a beer, some sauerkraut and sausages from her...like NOW!
Fashion Grade: 9.9


Egypt, Yazmine Mohmed Rosrom: Yes, kids you read right, this lovely girl is from Egypt!! And no, she's not covered up!  I really like BOTH her costumes worn for the Hoop Apparatus and Ball competitions. If I had to pick a favorite, I would say, it would be what she wore above for her Ball performance; even her nude leggings were an extension of her costume. This is taking the look to 110%. 
Fashion Grade: 9.7

Belarus, Liubou Chrakashyna: Liubou is Third after the Individual All-Around Qualification Competition. Her golden yellow and black costume was a little "Firebird" and a little "toddlers and Tiaras" for me. For some reason, it did not look as expensive as some of the others worn by the Olympic Rhythmic Gymnasts.
Fashion Grade: 7.7

China, Senyue Deng: For her Hoop Apparatus, Senyue Deng of China wore this, a red and green sequined stretch lace costume/leotard. I have to be honest here: I am not a fan. It looked a bit cheap, "Happy Hands At Home" and a bit dyslexic in terms of its hap-hazard design elements. Fashion Grade: 6.0

Cyprus, Chrystalleni Trikomiti: LOVE this blue and white costume from Cyprus' Chrystalleni Trikomiti. She looks like a Mythical Creature that was somehow born from the Mediterranean and Volcanic geography of Santorini. I also love that even her nails match her costume. Yassou Chrystalleni!
Fashion Grade: 9.0

Russia, Daria Dmitrieva: Russia's Dmitrieva is currently in the lead. This costume for her "ball" apparatus routine is well, "just there". It is elegant and subdued and I do like the ribbon effect in the sleeves. Fashion Grade: 8.9

Italy, Julieta Cantaluppi: Oh huney! Or, better yet "Mamma Mia!". Things I like: the bright fuchsia and purple colors but then somehow, after that, it went all things Bedazzled Wrong. This looks like one of them costumes you find at a stand in a coliseum at a Jr. Gymnastics Competition event. Can someone call Roberto Cavalli, the Emilio Pucci or Gucci design houses? And quickly. Fashion Grade: 6.5

Kazakhstan, Anna Alyabyeva: Love the black with deep magenta and silver designs in this costume. And, I think it's interesting that, instead of a skirt, the designer chose to add tassels instead. The "built-in" sequined necklace is great. It helps that she is so pretty to begin with. Fashion Grade: 9.2

South Korea, Yeon Jae Son: This costume on Korea's Yeon Jae Son is very intricate. There's A LOT going on, but it works for me. The multicolored beading looks expensive and the over-all silhouette is RICH. Fashion Grade: 9.5

Spain, Carolina Rodriguez: Purple and lilac are popular colors for Rhythmic Gymnastics at the London 2012 Summer Olympics. Spain's costume is VERY Figure Skating 101. Maybe that's why I like it. But...I still feel that there's TOO MUCH going on: the stretch lace, the ombre dyeing, the crystals, the nude illusion...How do you say "EDIT" in Español ? Fashion Grade: 8.8


Uzbekistan, Ulyana Trofimova: This is Cirque du Soleil Perfect! Yes, you might say there is a lot going on in this costume too, but it all works for me. The bright pink roses, the ombre blue, the degrade effect of the neckline circle detail...This is so far, one of my favorite looks for the London Olympics 2012 Rhythmic Gymnastics Competition. Fashion Grade: 9.7

Project Runway Season 10 Recaps: "Hasta La Vista Baby!"

To contact us Click HERE

Bye Bye Cowards, Quitters and Miss Tacky-licious:

Double Quitters: Andrea Katz (left) and Kooan Kosuke (right) decide to leave Season 10 Project Runway
This week's episode of Season 10 Project Runway was the "Bye Bye I'm OUTTA Here" Episode. At the conclusion of last week's episode, Andrea Katz--the "I have a BA, MA, and MFA Fashion Instructor" decided to skip town and get up and leave. At the beginning of this episode, Tim Gunn informs the designers that yes, she is gone and OUTTA HERE. Gunn had barely finished his announcement when Kooan Kosuke, famous for his "JapFro" and "kooky" fashions, then makes an announcement and tells everyone HE also is quitting the show. Alrighty then. See ya! Now, can I get back to working on my look for this week. Or at least this is what I would have been thinking if I was one of the remaining designers.

Now, back to this week's challenge, to design and create a look for the woman on the go. It's dubbed the Michael Kors Challenge (I'm sure it's in his contract to have one of these and honestly I would too if I was him!). Kors explained that the look the designers create should be one that can go from office to cocktails. But still be glamorous.

Judges Nina Garcia, Michael Kors, Miss Heidi (in a very Wilma Flintstone one shoulder animal print dress), actress Hayden Panettiere and Fashion Designer Rachel Roy took a look at the creations.

The Top were Christopher and Sonjia:

LOVED both of these designs--I'm sure if I was asked to do this challenge, I would have probably done something along the same drape-y, jersey, cocktail-y look. But maybe in a color. For sure. With that being said, I just didn't think these were actually realistic fashion visions for a real woman "on the go". These were DEFINITELY cocktails at the Dream Downtown Meatpacking NY Hotel...and certainly NOT, I'm working 8 hrs at my Google Office Job and then I'm picking up my kids at Daycare and then finally, I'm meeting my girlfriends for some Dirty Martinis.
To me they were more the Marie Claire Magazine Editorial version of what they would "envision" a "Woman On The Go" to dress like, not necessarily the real thing.
I did like Melissa Fleis' layered look (for a woman on the go in say, San Francisco or Seattle) (left photo) and Elena Slivnyak's gray coat and super skinny pants ensemble (right) looked very chic and also maybe, just maybe a little more "Woman On the Go", at least for me.

I also thought Dmitry Sholokhov's (one of my favorite Project Runway Season 10 designers) look (photo above) was very good. It was Day and yes, could be Evening too.

The Worst:

Nathan Paul's drab pea-green dress and cardigan look was BAAAD (left). Rule #215 in Fashion: Do NOT--under any circumstances--put pea green on a blond. And this look aged the model so much. And not to mention how rather uncreative it was. Judges don't reward Kooky Creative more than boring uncreative. She looked like a School Principal. And then , poor Fabio Costa. All the judges agreed that he styled himself better than his model (right photo). His own look should have been on TOP and his actual design belonged in the bottom. PS: I just love how these Project Runway designers--post Season 2--now are all UBER self-styled, especially for the judging day. They are much too TV savvy. Almost to a fault. Certainly for Fabio.

But then there was Raul "I'm Back Bit****" Osorio and this:

Raul was brought back because of the fact that two designers had left. Congrats mija. He boasted about how fabulous and talented he was and therefore, deserved to be there. Humble NOT. But then he makes this mess of an outfit above. And in addition, he FAILED in the "I Can Make Pants" competition:

 Thanks to tomandlorenzo.com for these MARVELOUS photos
I have had first semester students of mine at FIDM make BETTER pants in my pattern/draping class. I get that pants are one of the most difficult things to fit and it takes years to perfect a great fitting pant. So, maybe he shouldn't have "gone there". If I was his pattern/draping instructor, I would have given him a "D". Sorry Raul.

But the worst was Buffi "I am FAB in Dubai" Jashanmal. Huney. What. Were. You. Thinking. Cheetah print dress and a coral apron. No. Not here and not ever. Look at the model's face: She's like "I cannot believe I am standing here and getting payed next to nothing in this God Awful outfit". Can I run out of here and go have a drink with my girlfriends and call my booker to tell him what a bad decision I made in doing this show? Please".

I did think it was great though, that Buffi said her "Good Bye's" with a "I'm going to continue to do Tacky!" At-a-Girl! At least she OWNED it! Hasta La Vista Buffi!

To Read my Recap of this week's episode and what I really thought of it all, keep reading kids...

 Hasta La Vista Baby!

It seems like every season of "Project Runway" — or at least the last eight seasons of which I have had the honor of blogging — there always comes an episode in which I need to Get Things Off My Hairy Chest. Usually, these "nuggets" of recap-wisdom come later in the season, however for Season 10, this desire to vent came early. If you’ll allow me kiddies, let me begin:
1) Cowards, Cop-Outs and Quitters
Well, well, well. At the end of last week, we find out Andrea BA MA MFA Fashion Instructor who likes Hoop Skirts and Victorian Gallery Owner fashions ... is OUTTA HERE. Her roommates wake up and they're like "Where's Andrea?" She gone, as they say. Then, as this week's episode is still on its "Act One," we find out JapFro Kooan also wants to leave. Alrighty then. Either something is rotten in the Atlas Apartments water or we've got (in case you're counting) TWO Cowards, Cop-Outs and yes, Quitters.

2) Quitters Make Me Angry
Let me get on my "Uncle Nicky" soapbox if you’ll allow me: I get SO mad when this happens on "Project Runway" (and it doesn't happen very often). First off, I am so proud of being an alumnus of the show and all the wonderful things that have come forth as a result. I have worked my little butt off for 95% of them, but ... it is undeniable that being on the show has been a trampoline. I am honored to be an "ambassador" of sorts for "Project Runway." THOUSANDS of people apply for just SIXTEEN spots. I have seen many of these designers, since I have been a casting judge for the last eight seasons of the show. In fact, there were several I saw in Los Angeles THIS season, that did not make it onto the show — who were more talented than both Kooan and Andrea, yet by the luck of the Casting Fairy, did not make it. And if you remember way back to my season, I had a moment of weakness myself and considered calling it quits, but truly deep in my heart I could never imagine walking away from such a great opportunity. So, when I see not one, but TWO contestants quit, I am both dumbfounded and angry.

3) Kids, Get Back To Work!
When Tim Gunn comes into the Parsons workroom and informs the (remaining) designers that Andrea has left and then Kooan says his "I think I should go" announcement, the designers are all verklempt about it. Nathan is actually CRYING (seriously huney, get a grip!). Cutie (but has become quickly annoying) Christopher, is self-blaming (PS: it's not all about YOU, huney). The designers spend all this time huddling together and commiserating over the loss of the two designers. GET OVER IT. I don't even care if this sounds insensitive but, I would have been cuttin', drapin' and starting my sewin' as all that mess was going on. I would have also been mad and thinking, "Ummm, we only have A DAY to make this week's challenge look and now we've wasted an hour of it ... can we move on?!"

Click HERE to read the rest...

London 2012 Olympics Fashion Minute: Synchronized Swimming Costumes--All the Bezazzled Haute Couture!

To contact us Click HERE

Campy Costumes, Shellacked Hair, Over-the-Top Makeup...it's not RuPaul's Drag Race, it's Olympics Synchronized Swimming!

The London 2012 Olympics are coming to an end (insert sad face) and while there are a lot of things I will miss--fashion and non-fashion-wise: those low-slung men's swim trunks (OMG Michael Phelps, Ryan Lochte and Tom Daley!), the ball-tossing Rhythmic Gymnastics and the bravado of those men's track-and-field DIVOS (Yes, Usain Bolt, I am talking to you!). There's also things I won't miss, particularly those DRAB-as-DRAB-can-be gray Nike hooded parkas that the Gold-winning US Gymnastics Team wore on the Medal Podium. But back to the positive: somehow I missed discussing those AMAZING swimsuits/costumes from the Olympics Synchronized Swimming competitions.

Synchronized Swimming occurred all last week and yes, I was watching. How could I not be: I was entranced by all the campy, bedazzled over-the-top looks from all the international teams. I don't remember them always being so Swarovski crystal KRAZEE but I am happy that they are! Let's take a look at my favorite looks:

Russia's Ishchenko and Romashina--who clinched the Gold as expected in the Duets Competition--did a fabulous routine wearing Michael Jackson-bedazzled silver and black leotards. These were simply INCREDIBLE! I want a Swimsuit company to put these out and sell them! Imagine the next time at your Princess Cruises vacation and coming out to the pool and seeing a girl in one of these! I would run to her and give her a Fashion Medal! 
Fashion Grade: A

Argentina: The South American duet wore halter-necklined gold, white and black swimsuits that gave a trompe l'oeil effect of a vest on top of a leotard. And yes, the vest was bedazzled, of course.
Fashion Grade: B


Austria: The Austrian Synchronized Swimming Pair wore dirdnl-inspired swimsuits (naturally, it's AUSTRIA for goodness sakes!) but there was a bit of España as well. The bold red and black colors plus the faux lacing on the sides all added for an imaginitive way to inject a little bit (or a LOT!) of national costume/folklore into their performance.
Fashion Grade: A-

Canada: I call these the "Harlequin Romance Girls" ---These one-shoulder looking swimsuits were a TEN in terms of use of bold color, campy effect and great costume execution. One word: LOVE! Next Olympics, though, I would DIE to see them somehow wear Canadian Mountie bedazzled costumes/swimsuits. Please?
Fashion Grade: A

France: The French duet team went with more of a swirly-patterned costume/swimsuit for this portion of the competition. I do like the colors--rose, bubblegum pink, lemon yellow and black--and the (somewhat) delicate beading at the edges of the swirl applique. They're not Michael Jackson Fab but a good "costume effort" for France.
Fashion Grade: B+


Greece: My Greek "sisters" were not letting the sad economic depression occurring back in their country impede their choice of costume and use of fun bold colors. I enjoy the whole "SHAZAMM!!" effect of the swimsuits and rather large crystals. 
Fashion Grade: A-

Italy: Wow. Favoloso Italia!! These neon green and purple beaded swimsuits/costumes were BY FAR one of my favorites of the entire Olympics Synchronized Swimming Competition. They looked like Sea Creatures in a Gay Pride/Cirque du Soleil parade!!
Fashion Grade: A

Kazakhstan: This pair gave you tuxedos for their swimsuits/costumes. I like how the creators/designers incorporated the eyeglasses and the chain attached to them as if they are coming out of the tuxedo vest. There are SO many ingenious details in these swimsuits--notice the "braces"/suspenders and "cropped" pinstripe bottoms. Excellently designed costumes.
Fashion Grade: A

USA: The US finished 11th in the Final Duet Results but these costumes were one of the Top ones for me. They were subtle and rather "discreet" on the Synchronized Swimming Swimsuit Campy Meter. I really liked the bold Olympic Torch design and how it was "front-and-center" standing out against a white and light blue backdrop of the swimsuit.
Fashion Grade: A-

South Korea: These costumes were very colorful and almost had hints of Boho Hippie Chick Tye Dye in them. Were there better costumes worn by the other athletes? Yes. But this was a "good costume show" for them.
Fashion Grade: B-


Mexico: The Mexican Synchronized Swimming Duet team was feeling very "Animal"-inspired with these set of swimsuits/costumes. Both featured animals of some kind. The first (top) photo had a fish and a tiger--in a neon bubblegum pink and neon green trimmed background while the second suits (bottom) had wolves; bedazzled ones at that! Theses were my favorite ones of the two. But for both, they get a...
Fashion Grade: A


Spain: These Spanish ladies wore two of my favorite swimsuits/costumes of the entire Synchronized Swimming Duet Competition. I could barely choose a BEST between the Flamenco polka-dotted suits and then, the red Sevillana one shoulder "Carmen" numbers directly above. They were both elegant, chic, striking and muy, pero muy fabuloso. Olé!
Fashion Grade: A
Switzerland: When I took a look at these sequined swimsuits, all I kept thinking about was ABBA's "Money, Money, Money" song! In case you're wondering, yes kids, those ARE dollar bills imprinted on their costumes,in light green and neon yellow and done to look like the top of a side-exposing dress. I absolutely LOVE these!
Fashion Grade: A

Russia: Finally, the Gold-medal winning duet from Russia and their cherry-cheeked clown costumes. They were Campy, Sequin-Fab and I do like that they embraced the theme right down to the painted-on oversized eyelashes and hair accessories. They looked EXACTLY like the pretty clown in their swimsuits/costumes.
Fashion Grade: A

Congratulations Ladies and Thank you for Bedazzling my TV screen this past week!